lorem ipsum dolor sit amet

For the last 18 years, the Unforgettable Gala has bridged memories of the past with powerful moments from the present — in celebration of the future. The annual awards show is the only event of its kind, recognizing the Asian American icons and change-makers who represent our community and tell our stories. Through their work and long-fought battles, we have finally found representation and a seat at the table. This year, we have seen more Asian American faces on screen and more Asian American projects green-lit than in the decades past. It is more important now than ever that we take this moment to award these individuals who are paving the way, because of course – we still have a long way to go.

With a timeless approach and ambition for change, Character Media dares to dream a bigger dream for Asian American culture. We celebrate and honor the essentials of our collective identity: creativity, diversity, and growth at the 18th Annual Unforgettable Gala.

In honor of this year’s achievements, Character Media is pleased to introduce a theme for the very first time:

/blo͞om/ n 1. a period of prosperity and growth in character

Whether one hails from the coast of Shanghai or the streets of Los Angeles, we invite our guests to own this moment. We invite you to show the world who you are and where you come from.

Dress Attire | Black Tie. Cultural Touches Appreciated.



2019 Nominees

Actor in TV

Daniel Wu

Into The Badlands

Jameela Jamil

The Good Place

Karen Fukuhara

The Boys

Leonardo Nam


Nico Santos


Actor in Film

Ali Wong

Always Be My Maybe


The Farewell

Kumail Nanjiani


Randall Park

Always Be My Maybe

Steven Yeun


Breakout in TV

Andrew Koji


Derek Mio

The Terror: Infamy

Greta Lee

Russian Doll

Maya Erskine


Sydney Park

Pretty Little Liars: The Perfectionists

Breakout in Film

Charles Melton

The Sun Is Also A Star

Himesh Patel


Maya Erskine

Plus One

Tiffany Chu

Ms. Purple

Viveik Kalra

Blinded By The Light


James Wan


Jimmy Chin & Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi

Free Solo

Justin Chon

Ms. Purple

Lulu Wang

The Farewell

Nisha Ganatra

Late Night

Digital Influencer

Bobby Hundreds
Bretman Rock
Jenn Im
Jubilee Media
Steven Lim


Ali Wong

Always Be My Maybe

Hasan Minhaj

Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj

Jo Koy

Comin' In Hot

Ken Jeong

Ken Jeong: You Complete Me, Ho

Ronny Chieng

The Daily Show

2019 Awardees

Kevin Na

Pechanga Athlete On Another Level

Fresh Off The Boat

Lexus Legacy Award

The Farewell